Mid-Way Student Comments

2016-student-banner

We’re half way through our 2016/2017 Career Coaching Program, and some of our students have already attested to a career-altering experience with their mentor. Here are some of their comments:

We talked about career choices, interview, and many topics of marketing. The conversation was wonderful, and I wrote down a lot. [My career coach] tells me what it is like in the real world through his perspective. I am so glad he is my career coach!” – E.D.

I had just recently completed my resume for some internships and felt it was perfect until my mentor and I went over it. I was able to revise it with better action verbs when describing myself and past experiences.” – S.W.

I LOVE informational interviews. I feel so much more comfortable going to them and shining. I have made so many contacts, and these meetings are quite important to my growth.” – B.A.

One thing [my career coach] said that I think will be beneficial is not to get stuck in a job once you start receiving a decent paycheck – still keep working for the job I want.” – J.H.

Everything is going very well. I get along really well with my coach, and I look forward to our meetings because I know that I will learn something new every time.” – M.P.

I learned that I can integrate two jobs within the same company into one entry on my resume. I also learned that I can tailor my resume for the career path that I want.” – C.W.

Loving this program. It is a bit of time crunch trying to fit it in between working full-time and doing school full-time, but I love that I have been paired with [my career coach] as she gives me full view of what to expect in the ‘real world’ as I move towards a career in HR.” – G.W.

[My mentor] is great because he knows how the industry works, so he gives me helpful suggestions and allows me to receive his personal opinions on certain aspects. I wouldn’t want to be paired with anyone else because he is what I strive for in the industry when I get there. His advice is something I will always take with me and I value it tremendously!” – A.R.

I found out how many different ways one can go in accounting, I thought it was mainly just audit and tax. I learned more about what the differences are in large and small firms and what firm would best fit me.” -Z.Z.

[My career coach] has stressed to me the importance of balancing your personal life with that of your professional.” – T.C.

I learned that it’s okay to not have everything all planned and figured out yet because it will come with time and experience.” – A.R.

[My career coach and I] really connected, and he provided me with a lot of ideas for how to better myself and what steps to take.” – K.R.

There may be opportunities to do different jobs over the course of my lifetime. Deciding on what I want to do after graduation doesn’t necessarily mean I am stuck there for the rest of my life. Also, it can be better to do something you find value in than just choosing a job that pays the best.” – J.H.

We talked a lot about balancing life and work, and the importance of remembering facts about someone to establish a relationship with them. I plan on applying this to my life by prioritizing between work, school, and life.” – L.R.

[My career coach] really helped me map out how I can obtain my goals through the use of a timeline and how not all of the goals have to be something professional.” – H.M.

I learned more about the importance of being flexible and how to build an expansive network that can help me pivot if my initial career plans do not work out. I plan on applying these lessons to my career.” J.H.

We talked about how it may be difficult working with small businesses that have unrealistic goals and finding a balance with emotions and expectations but how rewarding it is to share a dream and a vision and working with a business to accomplish that.” – L.C.

We are so glad to get to offer this program to UCCS College of Business students and look forward to the second half of the program in spring 2017!

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

